Louisiana Teachers Association

Photo Gallery


Al Benner, Commissioned Composer Chair; Phillip Schuessler, 2017 Commissioned Composer; La Wanda Blakeney, President
LMTA Convention 2017, UNO
Quartetto Obrigado with 2017 commissioned composer Phillip Schuessler
LMTA Convention 2017, UNO


 Chan Kiat Lim receiving the 2015 Outstanding Teacher Award at the Convention Banquet in Lafayette


A group of teachers from Baton Rouge enjoying the Banquet at the 2015 LMTA Convention in Lafayette



 Judy McGehee, with her family, receiving the 2015 Distinguished Service Award at the Convention Banquet in Lafayette


 Christy Corley presenting "The Flipped Piano Studio" at the 2015 LMTA Convention in Lafayette


Pam Pike presenting "Encouraging Artistic Performance of the Elementary and Intermediate Piano Repertoire" at the 2015 LMTA Convention in Lafayette


Timothy Brown performing his original piano compositions at the 2015 LMTA Convention in Lafayette


Glenda Austin presenting "Repertoire for Rave Reviews" at the 2015 LMTA Convention in Lafayette


Sam Stokes (right), our Commissioned Composer at the LMTA 2015 Convention in Lafayette



2014 Convention (Pictured left to right): Linda Manes presenting the Teacher of Year award to Tamah Goad, Jane Magrath presentation


2014 Convention (Pictured from left to right): Exhibit Hall, Sue Steck-Turner & Chan-Kiat Lim performing a duo in the teacher ensemble recital, & Joni Jensen performing in the teacher ensemble recital



Presenters at the 2014 Convention in Ruston (Pictured from left to right): Chan Kiat Lim, Katherine Tobey & Sue Steck-Turner, Susie Garcia, Joni Jensen & Deborah McClung-Gillory


Chicago Gala
Lawanda Blakeney, Katherine Tobey, Patti Misita and Pamela Pike at the MTNA Conference Gala in Chicago 2014


Ellene Owens

 LMTA 2013 Commissioned Composer Ellene Owens with Dr. Susanna Garcia


Rossi 2013

Wynne-Ann Rossi at LMTA Convention 2013


BR at convention 2013

BRMTA Members at LMTA Convention 2013



Clinicians Victor Labenske, Paula Manwaring and Beth Klingenstein at LMTA Banquet 2012


banquet officers

President-elect Patti Misita and President Judy McGehee at LMTA Banquet 2012


dinner with clinicians

LMTA Officers and Chairs with Clinicians, Convention 2012


session 2012   string session  IMTF

Sessions at LMTA Convention 2012


Judy bday

Happy Birthday, Madam President!  Judy celebrates at the summer 2012 Board Retreat in Woodworth.

gala 2012

2012 MTNA Foundation Gala in New York


MTNA Foundation Fellows Susie Garcia, Katherine Tobey, Sue Steck-Turner, Charlie Jones, Donna Toney

  Pam poster 2012Rebecca poster 2012

Poster sessions at MTNA 2012 Conference - Dr. Pamela Pike, Rebecca Bellelo


Hayghe 2011
Convention 2011 Artist Jennifer Hayghe  


Vandalls 2011
Convention 2011 Clinicians Robert and Karen Vandall


Betts 2011
Convention 2011 Clinician Steve Betts


Commission 2011    
2011 Commissioned Composer Kevin George
brmta 2011
BRMTA members celebrate at LMTA 2011 Convention Banquet at the LSU Faculty Club
kb lab 2011     technology 2011
Keyboard Lab and Technology sessions at the 2011 LMTA Convention

MTNA OT 2011

MTNA 2011 Teacher of the Year Sue Steck-Turner with MTNA President Ann Gipson and CEO Gary Engle


LA at Gala 2011

2011 MTNA Foundation Gala in Milwaukee


lmta at mtna 11

Louisiana Music Teachers Association Members Win National Awards
South-Central Division Director Charles Jones, MTNA Teacher of the Year Sue Steck-Turner, Foundation Fellow Katherine Tobey, Young Artist Brass winner Chasse Duplantis, Young Artist Piano winner Adam Mayon, Foundation Fellow Cindy Hockenjos, LMTA President Donna Toney, LMTA President-elect Judy McGehee


 2011 honorees

2011 Foundation Fellows Katherine Tobey and Cindy Hockenjos with MTNA Teacher of the Year Sue Steck-Turner (center)


MTNA 2010 Outstanding State Affiliate of the Year
LMTA President Donna Toney, South Central Division Director Charles Jones, LMTA VP/Certification Sue Steck-Turner,
MTNA Executive Director Gary Ingle, LMTA Immediate Past-President Katherine Tobey

2010 Gala
                                                                                                Photo by Harry Butler
2010 MTNA Foundation Gala in Albuquerque


2010 MTNA Foundation Fellow Charles Jones;  Steve and Johnny Durrett, sons of 2010 Foundation Fellow Ernestine Durrett

Robin Bertucci - Poster Session at 2010 MTNA Conference
LMTA Officers Patti Misita (VP/Membership), Donna Toney (President), Robin Bertucci (LSU Student Chapter President), Judy McGehee (President-elect), Katherine Tobey (Immediate Past President)


Rebecca c poster

Rebecca Carter Bellelo - Poster Session at 2010 MTNA Conference


affiliate of the year  

Lafayette Area MTA - MTNA 2009 Affiliate of the Year
LAMTA President Sarah Roy holding certificate and $1000 check from MTNA
LMTA Officers: President-Elect Donna Toney, President Katherine Tobey, Immediate Past President Sue Steck-Turner


dinner at conference 2009 4


dinner at conference 2009 3

dinner at conference 2009 1       lunch at Westin Peachtree

LMTA members and friends dine together at the 2009 MTNA National Conference in Atlanta

Sahlmanns at Gala

 Gala 2009
MTNA 2009 Foundation Gala at the Georgia Aquarium

MTNA 2009 Foundation Fellow Fred Sahlmann and wife Dorothy     

convention 2009 1  
2009 Composer Al Benner with performers Chia Ling Lien and Donna Toney       


convention 2009 2
Outgoing President Katherine Tobey with BRMTA members at 2009 Convention


 conv 2009 3
    Sue Steck-Turner and Chan Kiat Lim at Banquet 2009         


conv 2009 4
 Collegiate Chapters Luncheon 2009



LA group in Denver

Louisiana teachers at the MTNA National Conference in Denver (2008)

Community Outreach Panel      Lang Lang and friends  Donna Toney at Collegiate Expo 2008.jpg  Garcia/Lim session in Denver  Nan Baker Poster Session  Community Outreach panel

2008 Foundation Fellow Sue Steck-Turner, Lang Lang with fans (Patti Misita and Katherine Tobey), Donna Toney presents at Collegiate Expo Saturday, Presenters Chian-Kiat Lim and Susie Garcia, Nancy Baker Poster Session, Community Outreach Panel with Sue Steck-Turner

BRMTA Teachers at Convention 2007

BRMTA Teachers at Convention Banquet 2007



About  Leadership  For Members Publications  Events and Forms  For Parents  For Students  For Teachers

Home - - Administrator Login

An Affiliate of Music Teachers National Association

Web Credits